Tuesday, 15 September 2015

Mystery Monday: EXTRA!



What there's more? 

Yes, there is.  I would love to feature a series I am currently in the middle of reading...Miss. Silver Mysteries by Patricia Wentworth.  They are mysteries set pre-to-post WWII in Britain - where a former Governess has decided to become a private investigator.  One of her former charges is now working in homicide and looks to Miss. Silver on guidance.  They are charming "cozy" mysteries that take you to another time and place with plenty of family drama and passion and of course suspense.  This is a series of for fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, Alexander McCall Smith and Jacquelyn Winspear.  Along with a new review for a mystery novel I will also feature a review (in numerical order) for Miss. Silver.  I will start with book one so it will seem a bit like Throwback Thursday, lol.  Please enjoy and let me know what you think. Here is review for book one....


THE GREY MASK
(Miss Silver Mysteries: #1)
Written by Patrica Wentworth
1928, 256 Pages
Genre: mystery, detective,

Rating: ★★★★


(I received this ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review)

Margot Standing finds out her father has died and not provided for her future as his lawyer claims there is no will.  As Margot has no proof her parents were ever married her claim over her father's estate is now in the hands of her Egbert.  Egbert was not liked by father or daughter seems cavalier over his uncle's death and fortune.  Overhearing a conversation between her cousin and a strange man Margot discovers her life is in jeopardy. They wish to have her removed so there is no obstacle to the Standing fortune. 

Meanwhile Charles Moray has returned home to take over this family estate. After his finacee, Margaret breaks off their engagement he travels to the East to rid his mind of her.  Upon his late night visit to his family home he walks upon strangers conspiring the death of a young heiress.  Charles is all ready to call the police when he spies Margaret among them and soon finds himself hiring a woman detective.  As Margaret, Charles and Margot try to figure out the mystery, Miss Maude Silver has it all figured out.

A fun novel from the late 1920s.  If you like the old classic black and white mysteries, old time radio shows or novels like Agatha Christie you are in for a treat.  Wentworth writes an engaging mystery but I wish we knew more about Miss. Silver.  Like Miss. Marple she is not the story but around the mystery.  I cannot wait to see where this series goes.

k (My Novelesque Life)



No comments:

Post a Comment